The International Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary Association (IHPBA) was founded in 1978 with the goals of finding effective treatment for the disorders of the liver, pancreas and biliary tree: to promote understanding, encourage change, study problems, foster friendship in the field of HPB surgery, strive towards highest ethical standards and advance education and career development in the field. With over 3,250 members from 105 countries, and 52 chapters, IHPBA is the global body for Hepatic-Pancreato-Biliary specialists.


The Americas Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary Association (AHPBA), was founded in 1994, and our mission remains to advance HPB care to improve patient lives. The AHPBA’s humble beginnings were a conversation among a dozen surgeons in Miami Beach over 25 years ago. Since then, we have grown our membership to over 1,000 members who gather annually to share in educational experiences and camaraderie unique to AHPBA. The AHPBA brings together some of the greatest minds and ideas in HPB surgery creating the opportunity for exchange and friendships that last a lifetime. We are focused on diversity, outreach efforts, education and training, innovation and research to advance HPB care to improve patient lives.


Local Organizing Committee

AHPBA Officers

William C. Chapman MD
Washington University School of Medicine,
St. Louis
PRESIDENT                           Timothy M. Pawlik
PRESIDENT ELECT              Michael D'Angelica
TREASURER                          Maria B. Majella Doyle
SECRETARY                           Sean Cleary

Victoria Ardiles

Leigh Anne Dageforde

Allesandro  Diniz

Majella Doyle

Jean  Emond

Benjamin Golas

Karim Halazun

Tara Kent

T. Peter Kingham

Major Ken Lee

Lucas McCormack

Alice  Wei

Matthew Weiss

IHPBA 2022 Scientific Programme Committee

IHPBA Officers

CHAIRMAN              Javier Lendoire | Argentina

PRESIDENT                                          Norihiro Kokudo | Japan

PRESIDENT ELECT                             William Jarnagin | USA

SECRETARY GENERAL                      Kevin Conlon | Ireland

TREASURER                                        Elijah Dixon | Canada